WCAG 2 Reaches Recommendation Status

December 11, 2008

Topics: Accessibility, News, Web standards.

It’s been a long time coming, but as of today the standards of accessibility expressed in the Web Content Accessibility Guidelines are officially updated.

A W3C (World Wide Web Consortium) recommendation is the most final state a document can reach in the W3C standards system, and should now be considered the standard document for accessibility, superceding WCAG (Web Content Accessibility Guidelines) 1.

A W3C Recommendation is a specification or set of guidelines that, after extensive consensus-building, has received the endorsement of W3C Members and the Director. W3C recommends the wide deployment of its Recommendations. Note: W3C Recommendations are similar to the standards published by other organizations.

Although there has been a great deal of controversy over the past few years concerning the validity of the WCAG 2 revision, the final document has managed to deal with the greater proportion of problems. Not everything, certainly — but expecting perfection in such a vast area of concern is, frankly, an unrealistic concern.

Jared Smith recommends reviewing the original draft from January 2001 to make comparison — could be entertaining! However, if you’ve got limited time to spend, now is definitely the time to make certain you’re thoroughly familiar with the new standard for web accessibility. It’s actually final.

Have something to contribute?

« Read my Comment Policy

3 Comments on “WCAG 2 Reaches Recommendation Status”

  1. I’ve never used it, but it’s predecessor was a pretty decent product. From what I hear, ATRC is an improvement; so I don’t see any reason not to give it a try!

  2. Joe,
    what about ATRC accessibility checker (trial) for WCAG (Web Content Accessibility Guidelines) 2 tester?

  3. web design philippines; January 22, 2009 at 7:45 am

    Nice post.Its interesting! I will search more about the WCAG (Web Content Accessibility Guidelines) soon. Thanks